Looking young is an offence. And so are fatty livers!

It’s not the first time that I have patients telling me that I look young. It depends on how you look at this issue.

  1. I’m incompetent. I’m young and so, I am inexperienced.
  2. I look young for my age.

I rather take the latter. However, I do not disagree with the fact that experience do come with age. The best answer that I could give to them was, “Why.. thank you!”. However, recent events that showed how incompetent most new and upcoming doctors (at least from where I am) these days, I’m not surprised why patients do make such statements. I am not smart in any way. I am sure there are a lot of smart doctors out there. However, what irks me is the attitude of the newer generation of doctors. They have this “Ah, I can’t be bothered.” kinda attitude. I mean why? Why choose this profession when you do not even care? Not just a mere observation, but I’ve been reading and hearing lots of horror stories too. Oh well, I could rant all day long but I guess I’m “young” too. So I can’t be bothered.

Image

Anyway, I think this is the easiest abnormality one can detect through ultrasound. A fatty liver. As you can see, the liver is much whiter as compared to the kidney. In a normal person, both the kidney and the liver have almost the same contrast and intensity. Fatty liver seems like a big taboo in my community. When I tell my patients that they have a fatty liver, their face changes as if it is the end of the world. It’s really fun to see their reactions, well, at least for me. Bad bad me. Then again, look at the bright side, at least I get to drill it directly into their heads that they should watch what they eat and to exercise.

So, how fatty is your liver?

Leave a Reply

